Canadian Shipping and why it sucks

Since part of my retail business is internet based through Etsy.com I have recently become aware of the giant rip off that is Canada Post. When I have purchased things online from a US supplier I paid very little for shipping (under 5$) and I even had something shipped from singapore for less than it costs me to ship something even inside Canada.

The problem is that for me to ship one of my bags in an envelope with NO TRACKING NUMBER it costs $7. Now this isn’t much more than what it costs to ship from the US, the REALLY BIG PROBLEM is shipping in Canada. What if I told you that to ship in the country that I live in it is going to cost me $14! that’s almost as much as it costs to buy one of my bags. So Canadian consumers are essentially paying DOUBLE just because it costs so much for me to ship.

The other problem is the slot of doom. That tiny little slot, where if your package doesn’t fit you get to pay twice as much to ship it. Mine all fit through the slot thank god but if it didn’t I’d be taking a serious haircut on profits to ship things or I’d have to make my customers pay more. Is that fair I ask you? I don’t think so.

I just don’t understand why it is such a difference in price between 2 countries that are right beside each other and why it costs more to ship in our own country.

I think we need to band together and tell Canada Post that enough is enough! We want better shipping rates. And while they are at it those awesome flat rate shipping boxes that they have in the States would be nice too.

Jacqueline

2 Comments (+add yours?)

  1. Jennifer
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 16:28:12

    I agree! That slot of doom comment made me laugh. My husband and I sell gemstone beads on etsy (www.lovelylittlegems.etsy.com) and luckily, our packages are always small enough to fit through that slot. But I shudder to think what it would cost if the enveloped were a little thicker.

    Reply

  2. alamodefashion
    Jul 31, 2010 @ 16:40:06

    Thanks for the comment, my shipping saga continued with my customer not receiving her item for a whole MONTH and I almost had to ship her a new one

    Reply

Leave a Reply

